You are here: More News Sports Rugby

Sports Rugby - Lankapuvath

Kingswood and Trinity Kandy winners

E-mail Print PDF

(Colombo Lankapuvath April 25) Kingswood College lads were able to beat the Anthonians in their encounter which was played at Nittawela, in the Division I matches of the School Rugby League 2010.

Kingswoodians beat the Anthonians by 23-10 with Kingswood gaining theri point from 4 tries and a penalty while the Anthonians gathered their points with 1 penalty, 1 goal.

The junior matches were called off due to heavy rains.

The impressive Trinitians had their own way as they beat Dharmaraja College by a huge margin of 44 to 05. At half time it was 15-5 where Trinity was leading. The match was played at Pallakele grounds yesterday.

Joomla Templates and Joomla Extensions by ZooTemplate.Com

Most awaited Schools rugby season kicks off

E-mail Print PDF

(Colombo Lankapuvath April 23) The schools rugby season Division I matches will kick off tomorrow (24) with the first match being held between the last year’s league runner up St Thomas’ College and Wesley College at Mount Lavinia.

Several other matches will also be played tomorrow including in Kandy. The matches scheduled for the 1st week of the Schools Rugby season in Colombo are Royal Vs Prince of Whales, Isipathana vs. St Peters Collage and from Kandy schools Kingswood vs. St Anthony’s College Kandy and Trinity College Vs Dharmaraja College.

Isipathana vs. St Peters Collage match will be played at Havelock Park while the match between the Kandy schools will be worked off at the Nittawala and Pallekele Grounds in Kandy.

The matches for the second week are St Thomas’ College vs.  St Anthony’s College Kandy,
Royal vs. Wesley College, Trinity vs. St Peters College, Prince of Whales vs. Dharmaraja College and Kingswood College Kandy vs. Isipathana College.

Joomla Templates and Joomla Extensions by ZooTemplate.Com

Anti-doping seminar for Rugby associates

E-mail Print PDF

(Colombo Lankapuvath April 21) An anti-doping seminar will be conducted by the Sri Lanka Rugby Football Union (SLRFU) tomorrow (22).

The seminar will be held at the sports medical unit, No.3, Torinton Place, Colombo 7 to educate and create awareness amongst all who are involved with Rugby in Sri Lanka. The players about doping rules and regulations and later introduce random testing,

Dr Geethanjana Mendis who is the head of the Sri Lankan sports ministry medical unit and sports doctor Seevali Jayawickrema will conduct the seminar.

All the clubs and schools that are taking part in this year’s tournaments have been notified regarding the seminar conducted together with the WADA (World Anti-Doping Agency).

Joomla Templates and Joomla Extensions by ZooTemplate.Com

Asia cup kicks off in June

E-mail Print PDF

(Colombo Lankapuvath April 10) The 10th edition of the Asia Cup will begin on the 15th of June in Dambulla where hosts Sri Lanka, Pakistan and Bangladesh will take part.

The curtain raiser of the tournament will be held between host team Sri Lanka and Pakistan.

The final of the quadrangular tournament is scheduled to be played on the 24th of June. All matches will be played at the Rangiri Dambulla International Cricket Stadium as day and night matches.

Sri Lanka is the defending champions having won the 2008 edition of the tournament in Karachi, Pakistan beating India.

Joomla Templates and Joomla Extensions by ZooTemplate.Com

Pradeep leads SL national Rugby team

E-mail Print PDF

(Colombo Lankapuvath April 09) Sri Lanka centre and last year’s Kandy SC skipper Pradeep Liyanage will lead the Sri Lankan National team at the Asian Five Nation qualifier kicked off in Singapore.

The tournament will be worked off from the 14th to the 17th of April 2010, Sri Lanka will confront Chinese Taipei in the semi final on April 14 and if they emerge victorious will take on the winners of the other semi final between Singapore and Malaysia in the final on April 17.

Navy ruggerite of the Sri Lanka Navy Yoshitha Rajapaksa is also included in the 15 member squad to represent Sri Lanka along with last year’s Kingswood skipper Roshan Weeraratne and Isipatana winger Vishwamithra Jayasinghe who are new comers to the team.

Sri Lanka squad consists of Terrence Henry (CR and FC) Kishore Jehan (Kandy SC) Eranga Swarnatilleke (Kandy SC) as PROP FORWARDS, Rajiv Perera (Havelocks), Bilal Hassen, (CR and FC) HOOKERS, Senaka Bandara, (Kandy SC) Ishan Noor, (CR and FC), Dinesh Sanjeewa (CH and FC), LOCK FORWARDS, Sean Wijesinghe (Kandy SC), Yoshitha Rajapaksa (Navy), Ashen Karthelis (CR and FC), FLANKERS, Dushanth Lewke (CR and FC), Sajith Saranga (Kandy SC), NUMBER EIGHT, Zulki Hamid (CR and FC), Roshan Weeraratne (Kandy SC) SCRUM HALVES, Fazil Marija (Kandy SC), Ashan de Costa, (CR and FC), Samantha Lakshan (Navy)FLY HALVES, Pradeep Liyanage (Captain, Kandy SC), Gayan Weeraratne (Kandy SC) CENTRES, Saliya Handapangoda (Army), Nuwan Hettiarachchi (Navy) Vishwamithra Jayasinghe (CR and FC) WINGERS and Saliya Kumara (Kandy SC) as FULL BACK.

Joomla Templates and Joomla Extensions by ZooTemplate.Com

Page 14 of 14